3.2.4 Departments, boards, commissions and corporations

In Canada the work of government is conducted by federal departments, special boards, commissions and corporations owned or controlled by the Government of Canada, as well as several corporations in which the government holds a minority interest. Of the corporations owned by the Government of Canada, the Crown corporation mode of organization is the most common. The government has resorted to Crown corporations with increasing frequency to administer and manage public services, many of which require the combination of business enterprise and public accountability. The historical evolution of Crown corporations is described in the government's proposals on the control, direction and accountability of Crown corporations published in August 1977. Chapter I of that paper describes the historical and constitutional background of the Crown corporation form. Copies are available free of charge from the Privy Council office in Ottawa. Part VIII of the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1970, c.F-10) provides a uniform system of financial and budgetary control and of accounting, auditing and reporting for the majority of Crown corporations. In addition, that legislation defines a Crown corporation as a corporation that is ultimately accountable, through a minister, to Parliament for the conduct of its affairs and establishes three classes of Crown corporation - departmental, agency and proprietary.

Departmental corporations. A departmental corporation is defined as a corporation that is a servant or agent of Her Majesty in right of Canada and is responsible for administrative, supervisory or regulatory services of a governmental nature. The following corporations are classified as departmental corporations in Schedule B to the Financial Administration Act:

Agricultural Stabilization Board Atomic Energy Control Board (The government has proposed through the Nuclear Control and Administration Bill tabled November 24, 1977, that the AECB be removed from the schedules.) Director of Soldier Settlement The Director, The Veterans' Land Act Economic Council of Canada Fisheries Prices Support Board Medical Research Council National Museums of Canada National Research Council Science Council of Canada Canada Employment and Immigration Commission.

Agency corporations. An agency corporation is defined as a corporation that is an agent of Her Majesty in right of Canada and is responsible for the management of trading or service operations on a quasi-commercial basis or for the management of procurement, construction or disposal activities on behalf of Her Majesty in right of Canada. The following corporations are classified as agency corporations in Schedule C to the Financial Administration Act:

Atomic Energy of Canada Limited Canadian Arsenals Limited Canadian Commercial Corporation Canadian Dairy Commission Canadian Film Development Corporation Canadian Livestock Feed Board Canadian National (West Indies) Steamships Limited (inactive) Canadian Patents and Development Limited Canadian Saltfish Corporation Crown Assets Disposal Corporation Defence Construction (1951) Limited Loto Canada National Battlefields Commission National Capital Commission National Harbours Board